Impressive hat-trick by Tevez. But should he even have been on the pitch?

Carlos Tevez scored another three goals tonight but, having gone in with two feet earlier on, it’s not unreasonable to suggest the Argentine should have received his marching orders before he even got his first.

Yes, Manchester City ran out comfortable 3-0 winners over Wigan in the end. However, that most likely would not have been the case had referee Stuart Attwell sent the former Manchester United man off for the tackle which saw Wigan’s Gary Caldwell shown a straight red.

Originally, I was fearful as a City fan, that Tevez was the man about to receive his marching orders. What relief I felt as Attwell hoisted his red card in the Wigan man’s direction. Having watched the incident from numerous angles, my opinion has remained unchanged. Even with my blue-tinted glasses on, I have to admit that Tevez went in dangerously and it was he, not Caldwell, who should have been sent down the tunnel.

Vital win for Mancini’s men, nonetheless. The race for 4th place looks like it’s going right down to the wire.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *