The Football Corner Awards 2009

With 2009 coming to a close, we at Football Corner thought it would be nice to acknowledge some of the stars of the year.

2009 has been a great year for Football Corner. We ,made the move from Blogger to WordPress half-way through the year and I’m sure you’ll agree, the change has worked out very well indeed.

So, without babbling on for too much longer, let’s get on with the awards.

The first award is for the Manager of the Year. After much thought, we decided to give the award to Fulham boss Roy Hodgson. The former Finland manager has this year turned the Cottagers into a force in Europe following years spent in the lower half of the Premier League table.

The Player of the Year award has to go to Aston Villa’s Richard Dunne. The Republic of Ireland international has been in outstanding form all year long for his old club Manchester City and especially for his new club Villa.

The Worst Player of the Year award goes to ….. yep you guessed it, Liverpool’sLucas Leiva.

Goal of the Year. Well no prizes for guessing. Maynor Figueroa’s 60 yard strikefor Wigan away to Stoke earlier this month. What a goal.

Villain of the Year. I’ll give you a few clues. He is on the Gillette ads, plays for Barcelona and is French. Any ideas?

The Football Blog of the Year award was a tough one. There are several blogs I have found myself reading everyday in 2009 including the likes of EPL Talk, Off The Post, Premiership Talk and We Dont Know Football, however I have to give this award to the guys at Never Captain Nicky Butt. A great blog which I strongly recommend you visit.

Shock of the Year. Paul McShane is STILL in the Republic of Ireland squad.

Newcomer of the Year. You just can’t look beyond Arsenal’s Andrei Arshavin. Since arriving in the Premier League last January, the Russian has become one of the most feared attacking midfielders in the land.

So that’s it. Hope you enjoyed it and also, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all being part of a magnificent year for the site. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *